The United Republic of Tanzania is a sovereign state in eastern Africa within the Rift Valley / African Great Lakes region. It borders Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west; Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south; and the Indian Ocean to the east. Mount Kilimanjaro in the north-east is Africa’s highest mountain.

Tanzania has been ruled by a Moslem sultan from Zanzibar, as the German Colony of Tanganyika, the administrated by the British East Afrika as Kenya-Uganda-Tanganyika. Tanganyika became independent democratic republic on 9 December 1962. On 29 October 1964 the country was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania.

Click on a picture below to open selected web page:

Leave a Reply